Andy Murray and Carlos Alcaraz headline Davis Cup as Great Britain hunt trophy

5 mins read

Andy Murray and newly-crowned US Open champion Carlos Alcaraz will top the billing at this week’s Davis Cup, with Great Britain set to get their campaign underway in Glasgow on Wednesday. A total of 16 teams will take part in the competition’s group stages over the next few days, with a new champion set to be crowned in the absence of 2021 winners Russia.

The group stages of the Davis Cup will be held in four locations across Europe, with Glasgow, Bologna, Valencia and Hamburg having been selected as the host cities. Great Britain will be aiming to progress into the latter rounds of the tournament by performing well in Scotland this week against Group D opponents Kazakhstan, the United States and the Netherlands.

Murray will lead a star-studded British line-up at this year’s Davis Cup alongside Cameron Norrie, Dan Evans, Neal Skupski and Joe Salisbury as they aim to reach the knockout stages, which are set to be held in Malaga in November. They will come up against Taylor Fritz, Tommy Paul, Jack Sock and Rajeev Ram from the United States in their first match on Wednesday, with US Open semi-finalist Frances Tiafoe having missed out on a place in the American squad.

Elsewhere in Group D, Alexander Bublik will lead Kazakhstan into battle alongside team-mates Mikhail Kukushkin, Dmitry Popko, Aleksandr Nedovyesov and Andrey Golubev. The Netherlands, meanwhile, will be represented by Botic van de Zandschulp, Tallon Griekspoor, Tim van Rijthoven, Wesley Koolhof and Matwe Middelkoop.

JUST IN: Del Potro filmed at US Open boasting about ‘screwing Federer up’

Spain have emerged as the early favourites to lift the Davis Cup this year, with US Open champion Alcaraz set to be joined by Pablo Carreno, Roberto Bautista Agut, Alejandro Davidovich Fokina and Marcel Granollers in a formidable five-man line-up. They will be the standout contenders to win Group B but will undoubtedly be given a stern test by Novak Djokovic and Serbia, who have also named Miomir Kecmanovic, Filip Krajinovic, Laslo Djere and Dusan Lajovic in their team.

Italy have also selected a number of high-profile stars who will be tasked with making it out of Group A, with Jannik Sinner, Matteo Berrettini, Lorenzo Musetti, Fabio Fognini and Simone Bolelli the five names on the list. However, Argentina will be hoping to upset their Italian rivals with the help of Diego Schwartzman and Francisco Cerundolo, who will be joined in their national squad by Sebastian Baez, Horacio Zeballos and Maximo Gonzalez.


Meanwhile, Germany will be missing Alexander Zverev after the world No 5 suffered a new and potentially long-term injury setback after breaking down in training earlier this month. They will be hoping to gain the edge in Group C ahead of the likes of Australia, who are without Nick Kyrgios but have still named an impressive selection of players that consists of Alex de Minaur, Thanasi Kokkinakis, Matthew Ebden and Max Purcell.

The top two teams in each group will advance to the quarter-finals ahead of the knockout stages in November, with the Davis Cup winner set to be crowned in Malaga on December 5. It remains to be seen whether Great Britain will be able to challenge Spain and the other big-hitters for the trophy at this year’s tournament, which has the potential to evolve into a wide-open battle for glory at the business end of proceedings.

Follow our new Express Sport page on Instagram here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest from Blog