Meghan Markle and Prince Harry married in one of the most high profile weddings ever at St George’s Chapel in Windsor last year.
The Duke and Duchess of Sussex wed in a touching ceremony on May 2018 in front of thousands of spectators, who lined up the streets to catch a glimpse of the royal couple.
The remarkable chapel was first built in 1348, and housed a religious college founded by King Edward III.
Since then, the venue has become a popular spot for weddings and hosted ceremonies dating back to 1863.
But the chapel, which is one of the most iconic buildings in the world, is hiding a very interesting secret.
In earlier years, Queens used to view ceremonies from a secret hidden spot away from guests and spectators.
The oriel window protrudes from the chapel’s main wall and has a fascinating history behind it.
In the 1510s, Henry VIII transformed the Edward IV Chantry into a royal pew for his first Queen, Catherine of Aragon, to watch ceremonies from.
The window was named after her, known as “Catherine of Aragon’s Closet” or “Queen Catherine’s Closet”, later being referred to as the “Closet for the Ladies” or simply the “Royal Closet”.
The perch was used regularly for the next three centuries but Queen Victoria was the last one to use it.
Documentation shows Queen Victoria watching the Prince of Wales and Princess Alexandra of Denmark marry at St George’s Chapel in Windsor on 10 March 1863.
She even had her own private entrance to the viewing porch through a covered walk from the Deanery which is still there till this day.
The oriel window is now used by broadcasters to film special events in the chapel.
Princess Eugenie and Jack Brooksbank married at St George’s Chapel in Windsor in October last year.
Lady Gabriella Windsor married her fiance Thomas Kingston at the same venue in 2019.